I’m Good Enough

I’m a self proclaimed realist (read, in denial pessimist). That said, I’m fed up with the kind of affirmations that just end up making people feel inadequate. Here’s the affirmation that I believe in, despite it’s inherent cheesiness.

If you watched SNL in the early 90’s (or reruns for the next few years) then you’re familiar with Al Franken’s character Stuart Smalley. I think he could teach us a lot about life. I know he/it’s cheesy, but I often remember his tagline, I’m Good Enough, I’m Smart Enough, and Doggone It, People Like Me! 

No matter where I am in life, this awful skit has followed me, and I’m so glad that it has, because not only is it funny (and so so awkward), it’s true. And what’s better than a little truth with a big laugh?

Leave a Reply

